Tuesday, October 21, 2014

G.O.D. Records Presents The Gem Of The Week - The Fugs First Album 1965


The Fugs First Album is the 1965 debut album by The Fugs, described in their AllMusic profile as "arguably the first underground rock group of all time" In 1965, the album charted #142 on Billboard's "Top Pop Albums" chart. The album was originally released in 1965 as The Village Fugs Sing Ballads of Contemporary Protest, Point of Views, and General Dissatisfaction on Folkways Records before the band signed up with ESP-Disk, who released the album under its own label with a new name in 1966.The album was re-released in 1993 on CD.

When poet and publisher Ed Sanders established a bookstore next to the apartment of beat poet and publisher Tuli Kupferberg in 1963, the two decided to form a band, The Fugs, writing 50-60 songs between them prior to asking Ken Weaver to join.[5] The trio invited Steve Weber and Peter Stampfel of the band Holy Modal Rounders to perform with them at the 1963 grand opening of Sanders' bookstore. Sanders describes the event as heavily attended, with William S. Burroughs, George Plimpton and James Michener among the luminaries in attendance. Harry Everett Smith, producer of the famous Anthology of American Folk Music, persuaded Folkways Records to issue the Fugs' first album. Following recording sessions between November and February 1963-4, the album The Village Fugs—Ballads and Songs of Contemporary Protest, Points of View and General Dissatisfaction was released (Broadside BR 304; also listed with a related Folkways serial number, FW 05304, though it is unclear whether this is a separate pressing/edition). Following a nationwide tour, The Fugs signed a contract with ESP-Disk, who re-released the album in 1966 (ESP-1018), in both mono and stereo, with some changed edits and one substituted take (see below).
A large number of additional performances were captured in the sessions for this album. El Jardín De Las Delicias Psicodelicaseven of them first appeared on a 1967 ESP album entitled "Virgin Fugs" (ESP-1038), and an additional 7 performances (five led by the Holy Modal Rounders) first appeared on the mid-1970s compilation "Fugs 4, Rounders Score" (ESP-2018) The Fugs claim that both of these albums were unauthorized bootlegs. Three additional performances and some studio chatter appear on the Fugs' 4-CD box set "Don't Stop! Don't Stop!"
The currently available CD contains the later ESP stereo version of the album. It also includes, among its 11 bonus tracks, 6 outtakes from the sessions, including 5 from the above two ESP bootlegs. The other 11 tracks, the alternate performance of "Swineburne Stomp" from the Broadside album, and the other Broadside edit variations, remain unreleased in the CD era.
The recent Fugs box set "Don't Stop! Don't Stop!" contains an additional three performances from these recording sessions.
The original (mono) Broadside release contains different edits of some of the songs from the now standard stereo ESP release.
The first three songs have longer introductions (usually a few seconds or bars of music).
"Supergirl," while the same basic performance, has the line "Fuck like an angel" changed to "mmmm" like an angel." (Both versions render the last line as "shake like an mmmm in an mmmm").
"Swinburne Stomp" is an entirely different performance, introduced with Sanders' line "In the key of metaphysical distress."
"My Baby Done Left Me" edits out the final, very loud "shit", crudely replacing it with yodeling and a fade over a prior chorus. It does, however, leave in the earlier line "I'd give up heifer fucking."
The performance of "Boobs a Lot" starts later in the song, on the line "Down in the locker room."
The sound quality of the first session material is extremely muffled.
At least one pressing on the ESP label includes these same takes and edits. It is unclear when the substitutions were made.
ESP releases included at least three cover variations: a blue tinted cover, a black and white cover with advertisements on the back, and a later psychedelic painting of a wizard.
Track listing
"Slum Goddess" (Ken Weaver) – 1:58
"Ah, Sunflower, Weary of Time" (William Blake, Ed Sanders) – 2:15
"Supergirl" (Tuli Kupferberg) – 2:18
"Swinburne Stomp" (Sanders, A.C. Swinburne) – 2:50
"I Couldn't Get High" (Weaver) – 2:06
"How Sweet I Roamed" (Blake, Sanders) – 2:11
"Carpe Diem" (Kupferberg) – 5:07
"My Baby Done Left Me" (Sanders) – 2:18
"Boobs a Lot" (Steve Weber) – 2:12
"Nothing" (Kupferberg) – 4:18

1 comment:

  1. Thx for sharing this , I also need to know ur thoughts about this sample pack