Wednesday, December 3, 2014

G.O.D. Records Presents The Gem Of The Week 1968 USA FAINE JADE - "INTROSPECTION"



One of the highly collectible LPs of the 1960's, Introspection: A Faine Jade Recital . The Introspection LP comprises 10 songs that make up a minimalist psychedelic masterpiece. Using a few overdubs, the recording relies on the five-piece instrumental lineup behind Jade's decidedly Anglicized Long Island accent.
The opening "Doctor Paul Overture" sets the stage for an album bursting with curiously of-center British-influenced psychedelic pop. "People Play Games" reveals Jade's hippie-era lyricism magic lanterns, scarlet scissors, and crystal cornucopia, while its percussive intro and jungle play-out suggests The Beatles' "Tomorrow Never Knows." "Ballad Of The Bad Guys" has a garage attack that benefits its title; A Brand New Groove" features a guitar riff that could have worked for the Rolling Stones; "Don't Hassle Me" proclaims the generation- gap chorus; "No-o-o! Don't you hassle me/ I'm trying to be young/ I'm trying to be free."
The title track "Introspection" leans toward a catchy folk rock, while "Cold Winter Sun" allows Manzi to repeat a lick echoing "Than He Kissed Me" before launching into a clearly mismatched power trio vamp. Jade enshrines his Brit-pop-folk-garage rock influences in the imaginative "I Live Tomorrow Yesterday," an upbeat number that sounds like a hit single. "Grand Finale", a five-minute instrumental experiment, closes the LP with a layered mix of effects, backward tracking, and studio dissonance.
The brilliant psychedelic rock 'n' roll of Faine Jade passed through the orange-colored skies of 1968 like a pink and lavender comet, then was gone... Fortunately Jade left behind a wondrous album to detail his amazing, one-way voyage through the night skies. Introspection: A Faine Jade Recital details every deliciously enigmatic, Syd Barrett-inspired twist and turn of the short but sweet career of this mysterious artist.

A1 Dr. Paul Overture 3:02
A2 People Games Play 4:10
A3 Cold Winter Sun Symphony In D Major 3:11
A4 I Lived Tomorrow Yesterday 2:A5 Ballad Of The Bad Guys 4:25
B1 Introspection 3:35
B2 A Brand New Groove 3:00
B3 On The Inside There's A Middle 5:36
B4 Don't Hussle Me 2:40
B5 Grand Finale 5:25

All songs written by Faine Jade and Nick Manzi except where indicated.

*Faine Jade - 12-String Hagstrum Solid Body Electric, Rhythm Guitar
*Nick Manzi - Guild Starfire Solid Body Electric, Lead Guitar
*Brian Cooke - Piano, Farfisa Organ, Hammond B-3, Keyboards
*Victor Muglia - Fender Electric, Bass Guitar
*Randy Skrha - Drums, Tamborine, Bongos, Percussion
*Bruce Bradt - Keyboards
*Kevin Chase - Electric Guitar

Related Act
1966-68 Bohemian Vendetta - Enough

No comments:

Post a Comment